Picture
Richard Elmer Blehm, 64, of La Salle, went home to be with his Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ after a long battle with bone cancer on Saturday, July 28, 2012 at North Colorado Medical Center. Richard was born on February 21, 1948 in Greeley to Elmer and Ina Lorraine (Ledford) Blehm. 
Richard graduated from Platte Valley High School in 1966. He has worked at Maxey Farms, Monfort Feedlots, Cottonwood Square until he branched out as owner and operator of Rocky Mountain Lawn Service. On April 26, 1974, he married Linda Schneider at Sherwood Park Baptist Church in Greeley. They were members of the Greeley Baptist Temple.
Richard was always a morning person. He loved to watch the sunrise and get going early. He collected John Deere toy tractors and loved putting together puzzles of country scenes with trators. His favorite times were attending Walker Days, John Deere Days and tractor pulls. He enjoyed watching Western and Christmas movies on TV, he was always making something out of wood for the kids to color even some wooden puzzles, family gatherings, gardening but hayrides at the shop were his favorite. He always decorated the house for holidays and had breakfast at McDonalds. He was a father figure to many children. He liked to tease people, he was self-motivated and a perfectionist.
Richard is survived by his wife, Linda Blehm of La Salle; two daughters, Teresa (John) Doell of Pasco, Washington and Christine D. Blehm of La Salle; a god-daughter, Bonnie Keys of Albuquerque, New Mexico; four sons, Rodger (Jackie) Blackwell of Roland, Iowa, Scott (Brenda) Blehm of Aurora, Daniel A. (Sarah) Blehm of Ashburn, Virginia and Joshua D. Blehm of Ames, Iowa; his mother and her husband, Lorraine (Kenneth) Lyman of Kersey; special friend, Vicky (Brad) Gilmer; two sisters, Kathy Warner of Osh Kosh, Nebraska and Sandra Billings of Loveland; one brother, Randy Blehm of Osh Kosh, Nebraska and 13 grandchildren, Gregory, Breana, Kassandra, Robert, Benjamin, Aleesha, Natasha, Dustin, Emily, Cade, Baby Blehm, Danielle and Tyler; two great-grandchildren, Matthew and Alexandra and numerous nieces, nephews, aunts, uncles and cousins.He was preceded in death by his father and a nice, Anita Warner.


My life has been affected by my grandfather's death. I miss him so much, but the cancer in his bones made him weak as his life went on. They said that the cancer didn't take him, but the in larged heart did. I know today where my grandfather is that place is were I will be some day with him and hope to see other people that I know and find out how they got though life. Cancer is not a good thing to have. If my grandfather were here today he could tell you how it fills to have some thing like this. To some people it is fun and games, but it is not all fun and games. And I think my grandfather die of cancer then any thing in the world. He fought a long hard battle with cancer that probably started a long time ago when he was working out in Keresy, Colorado at the feed lots out side of there. He work long night for awhile then he went to cotton wood squire were then he branched out and started hi own business which was Rocky Mountain lawn Service with my grandmother and they both were happy all of there life's. There is not way to not get cancer. I washed that my grandfather would make it to my graduation here at the high school, but God said to him that it was time for him to go now. I know were where my grandfather is going to be on that day I graduation from the high school. He will have a front row seat up in the sky that will tell me that he is watching me during my life and will be though for me when ever I need him. I would like to see him one more last time to tell him how I fill and tell him that I miss him and I wash that he could still be here today in my life doing his same old thing that he does. And not living all the bills to us that are still around in life. The life my grandfather live was probably the best time he lived and lived in my life. I had a lot of best days with my grandfather and wash that he could be here to help me get through life. My grandfather was hurting for a long time and he couldn't take it much longer and gave it up and tried to deal with his life how it was to him. The way he lived a long time with us and I love him for that, but wash he was here to enjoy my life with me. If my grandfather can see me now he would probably be mad at me for what I did, but then he would still love me for the grandson that I am in his life. “Life may be long, but then it can short.” My grandfather live a long life, but then he it can to be short to us. His life will be cared on through every one that he touched in other peoples lives that we all know that he is always there for us. The songs that I listen to reminder me of him and make me love life to the fulls of my life that I can live for him. My grandfather was a work person thats what he did every day. He would put up lights for every holidays of the year. Our house would be lite up all the time no matter what our house was the best house on my block thats what I think now a days. I wash that he would come back and do that all again just one more last time for the heck of it. Cancer may be bad in a lot of ways, but that never keep my grandfather down. If he was down he would pick him self back up again and get the job done. My grandfather and grandmother would always said “do the job now and don't put it off tell later.” All the time if my grandfather was a job that had to be done right now. No matter what he had to do he would get it done by the time the day was half done. Even knowing that my grandfather had cancer that was in his bones. He didn't even have lunge cancer with that. Even knowing him as a grandfather, a father, and great–grandfather he was the person in my life.





Leave a Reply.